May 29, 2024

Dr. Stavroula Andreopoulos Receives 2024 University of Toronto President’s Teaching Award

Stavroula Andreopoulos
By Sarah McMahon

Our Research and Health Science Education (RHSE) community would like to extend our sincerest congratulations to Dr. Stavroula Andreopoulos, Professor of Biochemistry in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine, on being awarded a 2024 President’s Teaching Award from the University of Toronto.

The highest honour given by the University for teaching, the esteemed President’s Teaching Award recognizes sustained excellence in educational leadership, teaching excellence and educational innovation, alongside an ongoing commitment to the principles of equity, diversity, inclusion and accessibility.

“Stavroula is one of the hardest working and most effective faculty members,” reflected Dr. Justin Nodwell, Vice-Dean, RHSE and Professor of Biochemistry. “She’s a true, unsung hero.”

To be considered for this accolade, faculty must be nominated through the Dean of their Faculty and applications are subjected to a rigorous adjudication process.

Truly deserving, Andreopoulos spearheaded the creation of the Department of Biochemistry’s foundational courses, BCH210 and BCH311, acting as Course Coordinator and teaching over 2000 students per year. She has transformed undergraduate education through her work in curriculum development and program administration. She introduced two inter-disciplinary programs focused on biochemistry, and three new undergraduate biochemistry courses. She also played a pivotal role in the Department’s first online course, offered through the School of Continuing Studies, SCS2472.

“Stavroula is an invaluable member of our teaching community,” said Dr. Ahlia Khan-Trottier, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education and Associate Professor of Biochemistry. “She works tirelessly to foster innovative and productive learning environments for our students, igniting their curiosity and honing their critical thinking skills. She has a remarkable impact on our students and is an outstanding role model for our teaching professoriate.”

Collaborating with the Departments of Pharmacology and Toxicology and Physiology, Andreopoulos designed and established two joint courses which provide undergraduates with novel experiential learning opportunities through exposure to traditional and non-traditional careers in research, industry and biomedicine. She also works closely with undergraduate students in her role as Program Director of the Amgen Scholars Program.

This award is a, “testament to her exceptional talent and boundless enthusiasm for education,” said Nodwell.  “Her passion and unwavering dedication continue to inspire countless students and colleagues and we are incredibly proud of her accomplishments.”